CAP Inter-Collegiate Women T-20 Tournament – SCG Wins Championship 2019-20

In the first ever CAP Inter-Collegiate Women T-20 Tournament, held from 10th to 14th March, 2020, five colleges participated from Pondicherry state. As the teams from women colleges had no previous experience of playing in a competitive atmosphere, CAP arranged a well-planned coaching and practice sessions for a week and trained the women players with experienced cricketers to mould the future women cricketers of Pondicherry. CAP provided the basic requirements like nets, grounds for coaching, balls, etc., free of cost to facilitate and attract the women cricketers to gain competitive skills. The tournament was played on turf wickets, conforming to BCCI standards.

The tournament was played on round robin basis as the team with maximum point will be declared the winner and the next on the table as runner-up. Sarada Gangadharan College won the championship of this year with 16 points, followed by Bharatidasan Govt. College as runners with 12 points.

Best Batter award was presented to R. Narmada of SGC (scored 102 runs in 4 matches), Best Bowler award was presented to S Kavita of SGC (10 wickets in 4 matches). Best All Rounder award was presented to D. Buvaneshwari of BGCW (52 runs and 4 wickets). Player of the tournament was awarded B. Priyadarshini of SGC (108 runs in 4 matches).

The tournament was officiated by qualified umpires and scorers of CAP and to add a feather to the cap, live online scoring was also made available during the tournament by CAP scorers. The “Grounds Committee” of CAP prepared the grounds for the tournament.

Earlier the tournament was inaugurated by Mr.V.Chandran, Hony. Secretary, CAP. Though this is the first time a tournament is conducted for the women of Pondicherry colleges, the team consisting of Mr.Ram Mohan Singh, Mr.Raju Mehta, Mr.Venkataraman, organised the tournament smoothly and successfully.