Led by Paras Ratnaparkhe’s Brilliant Century, Pondicherry Bowlers Bundle Meghalaya for Innings Victory in Col. C K Nayudu Trophy

Col C K Nayudu Trophy 2019-20 : Pondicherry Vs Meghalaya (SLIMS Cricket Ground)

Pondicherry, 21-24 Jan’20:
When nothing is going right, winning the toss and putting the opponent into bat may also not go right. Yes, this was the case for Meghalaya when they put Pondicherry into bat in the Col.C.K.Nayudu Trophy match played at SLIMS Cricket Ground, Puducherry.

Paras Ratnaparkhe’s Third Century of the season
Being in good form and two centuries already under his belt, Paras Ratnaparkhe continued his form and did a good grinding of Meghalaya bowlers to score 183 off 210 balls, containing 25 fours and two sixes, displaying his ability to stay at the middle as a stumbling block in front of the opponent’s bowlers. In the process of holding one end, he also gave way to his partners at the other end to keep the score rolling. In the company of Paras Ratnaparkhe, the no.4 batsman Akash Kargave scored 38, and Sidak Singh 37. However after his departure, the no.8 batsman Satish Jangir scored 79 off 109 balls in the company of Sowrrowsingh, who scored 35 and Santhosh Kumaran 21, which led Pondicherry to amass 445 runs in the first innings. For Meghalaya, Anish Charak returned with 7 for 79.

Bowlers take the mantle from the batsmen
With a big score of 445 in the first innings, Pondicherry bowlers took control of the match to bowl out Meghalaya for 120 in their first innings; with only no.5 batsman Tiwari scoring 54 runs to add some respectability to the total. Santhosh Kumaran returned with 4 for 45 while Madan took 3 for 9 and Sidak Singh 2 for 54.

Following on with a first innings deficit of 325 runs, Meghalaya started well to reach 32 when the opener Thabah was out for 16. However, this was not helpful in anyway as the wickets started falling at regular interval. With Sidak Singh, Satish Jangir and Akash Kargave taking three wickets each, Meghalaya was bundle out for 176 in their innings. Pondicherry won the match by an innings and 149 runs and gained 7 points.

Archive : Click Here